Delighted to see RS Fiber get some nice recognition…

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – August 1, 2016 – The National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA) Board of Directors today announced the recipients of NATOA’s 2016 Community Broadband Awards. Since 2007, NATOA has been recognizing exceptional leaders and innovative programs that champion community interests in broadband deployment and adoption in local communities nationwide. Recipients will receive their awards at NATOA’s 36th Annual Conference, to be held in Austin, TX from September 19 – 22 at the Sheraton Austin at the Capitol.

“We are proud to honor our 2016 individuals, communities, and organizations that lead the nation in improving broadband connectivity to all our residents,” said NATOA president Jodie Miller. “These pioneers were selected based on their extraordinary efforts, achievements and innovation in community-based approaches to broadband technology.”

The 2016 Community Broadband Award recipients are:

Community Broadband Hero of the Year – FCC Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel

Community Broadband Project of the Year – City of Ammon, Idaho

Community Broadband Strategic Plan of the Year – Portland, Oregon Digital Equity Action Plan (DEAP)

Community Broadband Digital Equity Project of the Year – City and County of San Francisco’s SF Connected Program

Community Broadband Innovative Partnership Award – Minnesota’s RS Fiber Cooperative

Community Broadband Visionary – Mary Beth Henry

For more information on the award recipients, the NATOA Community Broadband Awards, and NATOA’s efforts to bring about a national broadband strategy that recognizes the vital and integral role of local governments, visit www.natoa.org or contact Steve Traylor, Executive Director/General Counsel at the number above.


Show more