The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) presented the 2016 Mid-Atlantic Emmy® Awards during a three-hour ceremony held at the Philadelphia Marriott Hotel.  A total of 86 Mid-Atlantic Emmy® Awards were awarded in 78 categories as the sold-out audience of more than 600 regional television industry professionals and their guests gathered for the 34th annual event. The awards honor excellence in television news, programming and individual achievement in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware and parts of Ohio. Philadelphia-based NBC10/Telemundo62 led the night with 10 Emmy® awards. Following closely behind with nine Emmy® awards was Comcast SportsNet/Comcast Network.  CBS3/CW Philly received five awards including four individual achievement awards for reporters Jim Donovan, Walt Hunter, and Greg Argos and sports anchor Pat Gallen.  NBC10’s Jim Rosenfield took home the award for Best News Anchor.  WTAE-TV and KDKA-TV in Pittsburgh both received four Emmy® awards.  KDKA-TV received the Best Newscast award for its 5 p.m. newscast.  WTAE-TV brought home the coveted Overall Excellence award which is a station award given to the general manager.

Well-known news personalities from across the region assisted with award presentations, includingKeith Jones, NBC10, Alex Holly, FOX29, Ramon Zayas, Telemundo62, Laura McHugh, WLVT PBS39, and Ilia Garcia, Univision65. Music was provided by Be Jolly Music.

During the evening’s festivities, the Mid-Atlantic Chapter presented the 2016 Board of Governors Award to investigative reporter Walt Hunter who retired after 44 years in the television industry.  Hunter has received 16 Emmy® Awards and worked at CBS3 for 36-years.

In addition to the Board of Governors Award, the Mid-Atlantic Chapter also inducted six television professionals into the Silver Circle Society, an honor society that recognizes significant contributions by individuals in the broadcast industry for 25 years or more. This year’s inductees included Kathy Craine, weather forecaster and host at WFMZ-TV in Allentown; George Cummings, assistant general manager for TUTV at Temple University in Philadelphia; Harold Hayes, reporter at KDKA-TV in Pittsburgh; Kevin Martorana, president of Take One Productions, Inc. in Lancaster; Pierina Morelli, former producer, videographer and editor at WQED Multimedia and KDKA, now president of Pierina Morelli Productions in Pittsburgh; and Joel Sanders, recently retired chief photographer and operations manager at FOX29 in Philadelphia.

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter also awarded 10 College Student Awards for Excellence in College Production. Students honored in these categories received a certificate and their institution received a Crystal Pillar award. Temple University/TUTV led the night with four awards, including College Newscast. Penn State University took home three awards, Robert Morris University had two awards and Shippensburg University received one pillar.  The college production awards are intended to be an incentive for the > continued pursuit of excellence by those studying media and journalism and to focus public attention on outstanding > cultural, educational, technological, entertainment, news and informational > achievements by undergraduate college students.

A complete list of 2016 Mid-Atlantic Emmy® Award winners follows and is available at www.natasmid-atlantic.org.

The post 2016 Mid-Atlantic Emmy Awards appeared first on Philly Ad Club.

Show more