No fewer than 10 novels have been shortlisted for the 20th International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, managed by Dublin City Libraries.

The list includes Americanah by Nigerian author, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, three novels in translation from Brazil, France and Morocco and novels from Australia, Ireland, the UK, and the USA.

The IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, an initiative of Dublin City Council, is worth €100,000 to the winner and is the world’s most valuable annual literary award for a single work of fiction published in English.

The award was launched on 7th April 1995, making this year our 20th anniversary.

The shortlisted titles are:

1.  Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigerian) Published by
Fourth Estate and by Alfred A. Knopf.

2.  Horses of God by Mahi Binebine (Moroccan) Translated from French by
Lulu Norman. Published by Tin House Books.

3.  Harvest by Jim Crace (British) Published by Picador and by Alfred A.

4.  The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (Australian)
Published by Vintage Australia.

5.  Burial Rites by Hannah Kent (Australian) First Novel.  Published by
Little, Brown & Company and by Picador Australia.

6.  K by Bernardo Kucinski (Brazilian) Translated from Portuguese by Sue
Branford. Published by Latin American Bureau.

7.  Brief Loves That Live Forever by Andreï Makine (French,
Russian-born) Translated from French by Geoffrey Strachan. Published by
MacLehose Press.

8.  TransAtlantic by Colum McCann (Irish) Published by Bloomsbury
Publishing, Random House Inc. and HarperCollins Canada.
9.  Someone by Alice McDermott (American) Published by Farrar, Straus &

10. Sparta by Roxana Robinson (American) Published by Farrar, Straus &

Speaking on the award, Ruth Doyle said; The titles on this year’s shortlist were nominated by public libraries in Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK and the USA”, said Lord Mayor Christy Burke, Patron of the Award. “This is a list of high quality literature with three novels in translation which might not otherwise be brought to the attention of readers. I am delighted to see a Dubliner’s name included on the list – Colum McCann.

“The 20th winner will be chosen from this intriguing international shortlist which includes four women writers. The novels come from Africa, America, Australia, Brazil, France, Ireland and the UK” said Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian, “While many of the stories reflect contemporary themes, they bring us characters facing timeless challenges of love and loss, of innocence and isolation. These engaging stories are set against contrasting landscapes which include Brooklyn, Iceland and

One of the shortlisted authors is a previous winner. Colum McCann won the prize in 2011 for his novel Let the Great World Spin.

The five member international judging panel, chaired by Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan, will select one winner which will be announced by the Lord Mayor of Dublin and Patron of the Award, Christy Burke, on the morning of Wednesday 17th June.

The Lord Mayor reminded Dubliners that they can borrow the shortlisted novels from Dublin City Public Libraries. “Readers have plenty of time to pick their own favourite between now and 17th June, when I announce the winner”, he said.

The International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English. An initiative of Dublin City Council, which now retains full ownership, the award aims to promote excellence in world literature and is managed by Dublin City Public Libraries.

It is open to novels written in any language and by authors of any nationality. Nominations are submitted by library systems in major cities throughout the world.

Founded in April 1995, the award is now in its 20th year.

Show more