Radio star Nicky Byrne has landed two nominations in this year's PPI Radio Awards.

The Gala Awards takes place at the Lyrath Estate Hotel, Kilkenny on Friday October 3rd, and will include all the big stars of radio.

Although only in his role a few month's Nicky's programme with Jenny Greene - The Nicky Byrne Show is nominated for Best Music Programme, and the host is also nominated for Best Newcomer.

Nominees: Dermot and Dave are up for their 98FM show | PATRICK  O'LEARY

Despite just starting in Today FM this week, Dermot and Dave have their old 98FM show up for an award.

Meanwhile Louise Duffy is up for Best Radio DJ despite her Today FM show being axed.

Best DJ: Louise got the nomination despite losing show | VIPIRELAND.COM

Louise lost The Louise Duffy show last week, and was replaced by Dermot and Dave.

Louise is up against fellow Today FM host Tony Fenton.

See the full list of nominees:

Best Newcomer Award

Nicky Byrne RTÉ 2FM
Lorcan Clancy RTÉ Radio 1
Peter Dunne LMFM
Marcus Hunter-Neill BBC Radio Ulster
Cormac Moore iRadio

Best General Music Programme

Dermot & Dave 98FM
iRadio's iGo Home iRadio
The Gerry Kelly Show BBC Radio Ulster
The Nicky Byrne Show with Jenny Greene RTÉ 2FM
Tony Fenton Show Today FM
Zoo Crew Spin South West

Best Specialist Music Programme

ALT- SKRATCH - The Community Games Spin South West
An Taobh Tuathail RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta
Fusion on Red - Dance Show Cork's New Red FM
The Paul McLoone Show Today FM
The Global Village Radio Kerry

Best Breakfast Programme

FM104's Strawberry Alarm Clock with Nobby and Jim-Jim FM104
Fully Charged with Ryan and Tracey Spin 103.8
Morning Glory on Radio Nova Radio Nova
The Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show Today FM
The KC Show on Cork's Red FM Cork's New Red FM

Best Music Special/Music Event

Celebrating Seamus Heaney RTÉ Radio 1
Music City Day BBC Radio Ulster
Take me to Church: Other Voices RTÉ Radio 1
The Lyric Concert - The Music of Shaun Davey in Celebration of St. Patrick's Day RTÉ lyric fm
Transmission: Beastie Boys "Shake your Rump" deconstructed TXFM 105.2

Best Music Documentary

Fumbling for the light - The Songs of Brendan Graham RTÉ Radio 1
Hear and Now Presents Label of Love Cathal Funge for TXFM 105.2
Michael Jackson's Irish Driver RTÉ Radio 1
Pirate Port Newstalk 106-108fm
Whiskey in the Jar - The Eric Bell Story RTÉ Radio 1

New Irish Music/Musical Talent Programme

Across the Line BBC Radio Ulster
ALT - The Jam Spin South West
Clare's got talent clare fm
Hear and Now presents the The Producers Cathal Funge for TXFM 105.2
Nova - New music Dublin 2014 RTÉ lyric fm

Best News Story

Brewing up a Storm - clare fm News clare fm
Darwin - Evolution of a storm Live95FM News Limerick's Live 95fm
Killarney Explosion - Radio Kerry News Radio Kerry
On the Runs - Radio Ulster Current Affairs BBC Radio Ulster
The trauma of forced adoption - Brian O'Connell for Today with Sean O'Rourke RTÉ Radio 1

Best News Bulletin

98fm News 98FM
clare fm News Bulletin clare fm
FM104 News FM104
Newstalk News Newstalk 106-108fm
The Story Spin 103.8

Best News Programme

Death of Nelson Mandela -Morning Ireland RTÉ Radio 1
FYI Galway Galway Bay FM
News at One - Justice in Crisis RTÉ Radio 1
National Lunchtime News - Today FM News Today FM
Newstalk lunchtime with Jonathan Healy Newstalk 106-108fm

Best Current Affairs Programme

Morning Focus clare fm
Newstalk Breakfast Newstalk 106-108fm
Talking Point - Fatal Foetal Abnormality Newstalk 106-108fm
The Nolan Show BBC Radio Ulster

Best Sports Story

Ballymurphy to Bangkok - The MLR Story KCLR96fm
In Search of Sam - Sunday Sport RTÉ Radio 1
London's GAA calling Today FM
Mick Cook - The end of the road LMFM
The State of Irish Boxing - Is Paddy going PRO? - Sunday Sport RTÉ Radio 1

Best Sports Programme

Looking Back Galway Bay FM
Off the Ball Newstalk 106-108fm
Premier League Live Today FM
Sunday Sport RTÉ Radio 1
Terrace Talk Radio Kerry

Best Magazine Programme

Mooney RTÉ Radio 1
Sunday with Miriam RTÉ Radio 1
The Late Lunch LMFM
The Moncrieff Show Newstalk 106-108fm
The Ray D'Arcy Show Today FM

Best Music Presenter of the Year

Ray Foley 98FM
Joe Harrington Dublin's Sunshine
Jim-Jim Nugent FM104
Dave Moore 98FM
Dermot Whelan 98FM

Best Radio DJ

Louise Duffy Today FM
Tony Fenton Today FM
Martin Guilfoyle Beat 102-103
Steve K Spin 103.8
Darren Regan Spin South West

News Broadcaster of the Year

Chris Donoghue Newstalk 106-108FM
Jonathan Healy Newstalk 106-108FM
Enda McClafferty BBC Radio Foyle
Seamus McKee BBC Radio Ulster
Colm Ó Mongáin RTÉ Radio 1

News Reporter of the Year

Philip Boucher-Hayes RTÉ Radio 1
Eric Clarke Limerick's Live 95FM
Justin McCarthy RTÉ Radio 1
Shona Murray Newstalk 106-108fm
Brian O'Connell RTÉ Radio 1

Sports Broadcaster of the Year

Weeshie Fogarty Radio Kerry
Ger Gilroy Newstalk 106-108fm
Oisin Langan Newstalk 106-108fm
Joe Molloy Newstalk 106-108fm
Syl O'Connor clare fm

Show more