Kim Chiu and Xian Lim, German Moreno Power Tandem Awardee (PHOTOS:ABSCBNPR).

SOME of the brightest stars on TV and the music scene gathered at the Resorts World Performing Arts last Sunday night for the 32nd Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for Music and TV.

For this year’s list of awardees, the Kapamilya network bagged most of the major awards starting off with Best TV Station.

“Ang Probinsyano” was named Best Primetime Drama Series, while lead actor Coco Martin was named Best Drama Actor.

Child actors Simon Pineda, and McNeal Briguela, who play the roles of Onyok and Makmak in the series, were named Best New Male TV Personality and Best Child Performer, respectively.

Pineda shared the award with Jake Ejercito.

Arjo Atayde and Arron Villaflor were both named Best Drama Supporting Actor, while Claudine Barretto took home the Best Single Performance by an Actress award.

Other winners from the Kapamilya network are “Doble Kara” (Best Daytime Drama Series), “Goin’ Bulilit” (Best Gag Show), “Ipaglaban Mo” (Best Drama Anthology) and “ASAP” (Best Musical Variety Show).

Kim Chiu and Xian Lim won the German Moreno Power Tandem Award, beating the younger love teams.

Sarah Geronimo was named Best Female Concert Performer while Martin Nievera was honored as Best Male Concert Performer.

Jolina Magdangal was the Best Female Recording Artist of the Year, with Jed Madela as the Best Male Recording Artist of the Year.

Darren Espanto took home both the Best Album Cover and the Best Male Pop Artist awards. He shared the Best Male Pop Artist award with Alden Richards.

Alden, who was unable to attend the event, got the biggest haul of awards for the GMA Network.

Aside from the Best Male Pop Artist Award, he also won Song of the Year, Pop Album of the Year and Album of the Year for “Wish I May” under GMA Records.

The night also featured performances from Christian Bautista, Yeng Constantino, Jed Madela, Morissette Amon, Mark Bautista, among others.

A montage was played to pay tribute to the film industry’s dearly departed in the last year and in recent months.

“Sadly, this year alone we lost three beloved figures in our industry: Master star builder German “Kuya Germs” Moreno, director Uro dela Cruz, and most recently, phenomenal blockbuster director Wenn Deramas, and another Kapamilya director, Francis Pasion,” said Piolo Pascual.

Hosting the event were Kapamilya stars Robi Domingo, Alex Gonzaga, Jodi Sta. Maria, Luis Manzano, Xian Lim and Kim Chiu.

Darren Espanto

Complete list of winners:

Album of the Year: Wish I May (Alden Richards)

Rock Album of the Year: Avalon Beyond by Avalon Beyond (Pulp Live Records)

Acoustic Album of the Year: Aiza Seguerra (Araw-Gabi, Mga Awit Ni Maestro Ryan/Universal Records)

Acoustic Artist of the Year: Aiza Seguerra

Pop Album of the Year: Alden Richards

R&B Album of the Year: Most Requested Playlist (Kris Lawrence/Universal Records)

R&B Artist of the Year: Kris Lawrence (Most Requested Playlist/Universal Records)

Dance Album of the Year: Hashtags

Duo/Group of the Year: Top One Project (GMA Records)

Song of the Year: Alden Richards

Best Album Cover: Darren Espanto

Best Male Recording Artist of the Year: Jed Madela

Best Female Recording Artist of the Year: Jolina Magdangal (Back To Love/Star Music)

New Male Recording Artist: Derrick Monasterio (Derrick Monasterio/ GMA Records) and Idolito dela Cruz (Ngayong Nandito Ka/ DB Energy Music Co.)

New Female Recording Artist: Janella Salvador (Janella Salvador/Star Music)

Acoustic Artist of the Year: Aiza Seguerra

Rock Artist of the Year Award: Bamboo (Bless This Mess/Polyeast Records)

Best Male Pop Artist: Alden Richards and Darren Espanto

Best Female Pop Artist: Marion Aunor (Marion/Star Music)

Concert of the Year: Love Catcher by Lani Misalucha

Best Male Concert Performer: Martin Nievera (Royals)

Best Female Concert Performer: Sarah Geronimo (From the Top)

Music Video of the Year: “Wag Kang Pabebe (Vice Ganda/Director: Jasper Salimbangon) and “Puso Kong” Ito by Edward Benosa (Director: Carlo Obispo)

Parangal Levi Celerio Award: Vic del Rosario Jr, Viva Entertainment Corporation

Pilita Corales Lifetime Achievement Award: Dulce

Best Celebrity Talk Show: Tonight with Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)

Best Magazine Show: Rated K (ABS-CBN)

Best Travel Show: Biyahe ni Drew (GMA)

Best Game Show: Wowowin (GMA)

Best Public Affairs Program: Bottomline (ABS-CBN)

Best Documentary Special: Politika at Pamilya, Sila Noon, Sila Pa Rin Ngayon (ABS-CBN)

Best Documentary Program: Reel Time

Best Morning Show: Unang Hirit (GMA)

Best Educational TV Program: Matanglawin (ABS-CBN)

Best Lifestyle Show: RX Plus (ABS-CBN Sports + Action)

Best Talent Search Program: StarStruck Season 6

Best Lifestyle Show Host: Ricky Reyes, Gandang Ricky Reyes (GMA News TV)

Best New Male TV Personality: Simon “Onyok” Pineda and Jake Ejercito

Best New Female TV Personality: Ria Atayde

Best Child Performer: McNeal Briguela

Best Educational Program Host: Kim Atienza

Best Travel Show Host: Drew Arellano

Best Morning Show Host: Anthony Taberna, Jorge Cariño, Atom Araullo, Amy Perez, Ariel Ureta, Winnie Cordero, and Gretchen Ho (Umagang Kay Ganda)

Best Documentary Program Host: Malou Mangahas (Investigative Documentaries)

Best Public Affairs Program Host: Boy Abunda (The Bottomline)

Best Public Service Program Host: Julius Babao (Mission Possible)

Best News Program: 24 Oras and TV Patrol

Best Male Newscaster: Erwin Tulfo (Aksyon Prime TV5)

Best Female Newscaster: Vicky Morales (24 Oras)

Female Star of the Night for Music: Ria Atayde

Male Star of the Night for Music: Arjo Atayde

Female Star of the Night for TV: Yassi Pressman

Male Star of the Night for TV: Luis Manzano

Best Game Show Host: Luis Manzano (Kapamilya Deal or No Deal)

Best Talent Search Host: Luis Manzano, Robi Domingo and Kim Chiu (The Voice Kids 3)

Best Magazine Show Host: Korina Sanchez

Best Celebrity Talk Show Host: Boy Abunda

Best Drama Anthology: Ipaglaban Mo

Best Drama Supporting Actor: Arjo Atayde and Arron Villaflor

Best Supporting Actress: Sunshine Dizon (Little Nanay)

Best Single Performance by an Actor: Kristoffer Martin

Best Single Performance by an Actress: Claudine Barretto

Best Noontime Show: Sunday PinaSaya

Best Musical Variety Show: ASAP

Best Male TV Host: Luis Manzano

Best Female TV Host: Anne Curtis

Best Gag Show: Goin’ Bulilit

Best Comedy Sitcom: Pepito Manaloto

Best Actor in Comedy: Jose Manalo

Best Comedy Actress: Manilyn Reynes

Best Daytime Drama Series: Doble Kara

Best Primetime Drama Series: Ang Probinsyano

Best TV Station: ABS-CBN

Best Drama Actress: Jennylyn Mercado

Best Drama Actor: Coco Martin

German Moreno Power Tandem Award: Kim Chiu and Xian Lim

Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award: Maricel Soriano

Excellence in Broadcasting Achievement Award: Luchi Cruz Valdez

The post ABS-CBN wins big at the PMPC Star Awards appeared first on Cebu Daily News.

Show more