Telangana is born as 29th state, KCR becomes first CM

i. Telangana came into existence as the 29th state of India on Monday and TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR) was sworn in as its first Chief Minister, capping the decades-old struggle in the region for carving out a separate state from Andhra Pradesh. 

ii. 60-year-old KCR took oath as Chief Minister along with his son K T Rama Rao, nephew T Harish Rao and nine others administered by Governor E S L Narasimhan at Raj Bhavan. 

iii. Nine other Cabinet Ministers were sworn in the new state -Mohammed Mahmood Ali, T Rajaiah, Nayani Narasimha Reddy, Eatela Rajender, Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy, T Padma Rao, P Mahender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna and G Jagadish Reddy. 

iv. Earlier, Narasimhan was sworn in as the first Governor of Telangana. 
v. Naidu, who was swept to power in the successor State of Andhra Pradesh, is slated to be sworn in as Chief Minister on June eight at a ceremony to be held between Vijayawada and Guntur. 

Jaitley  appointed on ADB's Board of Governors 

i. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has been appointed on the Board of Governors of Philippines-based Asian Development Bank (ADB). 

ii. "The Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has been appointed as India's Governor on the Board of Governors of the Asian Development Bank with effect from May 27," according to an official statement. 
iii. The position was previously held by former Finance Minister P Chidambaram. The Board of Governors is the ADB's highest policy-making body and has one representative from each member country. 
iv. The Manila-headquartered multi-lateral funding agency, founded in 1966, aims to improve people's lives in Asia and the Pacific. ADB approved USD 21.02 billion in financing in 2013. 

Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth gets six-month extension 

i. Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth, who was due for retirement this month, was on Monday given an extension of six months. 

ii. The extension of 62-year-old Seth, a 1974 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre, was cleared by Appointments Committee of the Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. 
iii. The government has approved extension of Seth as Cabinet Secretary for a period of six months with effect from 14th June or till further orders, which ever is earlier, an official notification said. 

Kolkata Knight Riders lift IPL 7 Trophy

i. Kolkata Knight Riders celebrated their second Indian Premier League triumph in grand style following their three-wicket victory over Kings XI Punjab in the final in Bangalore, on Sunday.
ii. This was Kolkata's second IPL triumph, following their victory in the fifth edition in 2012.
iii. They join Chennai Super Kings as the only two teams to have won the IPL twice.

iv. Manish Pandey played an absolute blinder as Kolkata Knight Riders held their nerves to beat a spirited Kings XI Punjab by three wickets in an exhilarting summit clash to win the seventh edition of the Indian Premier League in Bangalore on Sunday.

v. Needing 200 to win, Piyush Chawla hit the most important 13 runs of his life as he pulled Mitchell Johnson for a six off the last delivery of the penultimate over before slashing Parvinder Awana over point to run a victory lap as his delirious teammates joined him.

Brief Score: KXIP 199/4 (20)

KKR: 200/7 (19.3) - KKR won by 3 wickets

Man of the Match: Manish Pandey

Captains of the two teams 
• Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir
• Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey

The previous winners of the IPL are as follows
• IPL Season 1: Rajasthan Royals
• IPL Season 2: Deccan Chargers
• IPL Season 3: Chennai Super Kings
• IPL Season 4: Chennai Super Kings
• IPL Season 5: Kolkata Knight Riders
• IPL Season 6: Mumbai Indians

Mallikarjun Kharge to be leader of Congress in Lok Sabha

i. Despite a strong demand for Rahul Gandhi to head the Congress in the Parliament, the party on Monday declared that former railways minister Mallikarjun Kharge would be its leader in the Lok Sabha.

ii. Confirming the reports, senior Congress leader Janardan Dwivedi said, "Mallikarjun Kharge will be the leader of Congress in Lok Sabha."

iiii. The Congress won 44 seats in the Lok Sabha in the polls. The main Opposition party is required to have at least 55 MPs in the Lok Sabha or 10 percent of it total strength of 545. However, the speaker of Lok Sabha can confer the status on his or her discretion.

Former Union minister Tapan Sikdar passes away

i. Former Union Minister and BJP leader Tapan Sikdar has passed away. He was 69. He died in the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi due to respiratory problems. Sikdar was a Minister of State in the NDA government headed by Atal Behari Vajpayee. 
ii. He was elected to Lok Sabha twice from Dum Dum constituency. He also unsuccessfully contested the last Lok Sabha polls from the same constituency.

Government abolished all GoMs & EGoMs for greater accountability and empowerment

i. Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister of India on 31 may 2014 abolished existing nine Empowered Group of Ministers (EGoMs) and 21 Groups of Ministers (GoMs). 
ii. With the abolition of all GoMs and EGoMs now all the decisions related to critical policy matters will be taken up by the Ministries and Departments. This will help in infusing greater accountability and transparency.
iii. In case of Ministries facing any difficulty they will be assisted by the Cabinet Secretariat and the Prime Minister’s office in decision making process.

iv. Earlier during the UPA government led by Manmohan Singh, the GoMs and EGoMs were a preferred route to decide on critical policies which led to delays in decision-making due to inter-ministerial tug-of-war
v. During the UPA-II tenure, there were 78 GoMs and 16 EGoMs, which was higher than of UPA-I period.

Show more