Fifteen counselors representing each campus in the Russellville School District are engaged in an ongoing series of professional development workshops offered by the Arkansas Tech University Center for Leadership and Learning.

The workshops began in November, at which time the participants established the beliefs, vision and mission of counselors in the Russellville School District, discussed the goal-setting process and studied the American School Counselor Association national model.

Suzanne Knowles and Roger Palmer of the Arkansas Department of Education joined the counselors for their second 2014-15 professional development workshop at the Arkansas Tech CLL on Monday, Jan. 5.

Knowles is a public school program coordinator and Palmer is a public school program advisor for the Arkansas Department of Education.

The Jan. 5 workshop also provided counselors with an opportunity to draft goals for 2015 and incorporate elements of the American School Counselor Association model into their comprehensive plans.

Arkansas Tech CLL faculty members Dr. Christopher Trombly, department head and assistant professor of educational leadership, and Dr. Pam Dixon, assistant professor of school counseling and leadership, are facilitating the workshops.

“The first of the year is a very hectic time for school counselors,” said Dixon. “We applaud you for your willingness to make time for yourselves, the school counseling profession and ultimately the students you serve.”

Counselors participating in the professional development workshops include: Robin Johnson of Center Valley Elementary; Tracey Skaggs of Crawford Elementary; Jennifer Fuller of Dwight Elementary; Kathy Steffy of London Elementary; Jullie Kirkpatrick of Oakland Heights Elementary; Ellen Hefner of Sequoyah Elementary; Mary Ann Tallent of Russellville Upper Elementary Fifth Grade; Cindy Chaffin and Leigh Anne Forehand of Russellville Middle School; Tamara Laws and Amy Warrick of Russellville Junior High; Beverly Osborn of the Russellville Secondary Learning Center; and Chris Arnold, Andrea George and Donna Gwaltney of Russellville High School.

The Arkansas Tech CLL provides Master of Education degree programs in teaching, learning and leadership, educational leadership and school counseling and leadership as well as an Educational Specialist degree in educational leadership and a forthcoming Doctor of Education degree in school leadership.

Learn more about the Arkansas Tech CLL.

Show more